Blog: Social Media Tips

LinkedIn Profile Changes

3124.LinkedIn Logo

Have you ever wanted to make a few changes to your LinkedIn profile, but without telling everyone about these edits?  That’s the subject of this video tip, inspired by a recent question from a friend of mine. Check out the video, or follow the transcript below, and let us know if you have other questions about your social media profiles!

 

 

I was recently asked by a friend of mine about adjusting your settings on LinkedIn so that when you make a change to your profile, not everybody sees it. What had happened is that this gentleman had made an edit to his profile, and then he spent the rest of the week having friends ask him if he had changed jobs, if there was something new going on, what was wrong with his old position – all because he had not turned this one, very tiny setting off.

So, there are times when you do want the world to know what you’ve updated on LinkedIn, and there are times when you don’t. When you don’t, let me show you how to adjust the setting.

Under your profile, you’ll see a Privacy and Settings option to Review. When you click on that, you may be asked to reenter your Password, but this one little choice right here – “Turn On/Off Your Activity Broadcasts” – is the key. If you click on that, it allows you to choose whether you do, or do not, want people to know that you’re updating your profile.

I almost always leave mine unchecked, meaning people will not see when I edit my profile. Here’s an exception to that. Let’s say you’re going to make 3 or 4 changes to your LinkedIn profile all at once. Start with your settings, come in here and turn this off. Save the one [edit] you do want to tell the world about for your last edit. Make your initial edits, come in and click this option [turn on], save, go back, make that final edit, and then the world on LinkedIn will see the new change that you do want them to see. Just remember to go back and readjust the setting when you’re done to turn it back off so you can make minor edits along the way without necessarily telling everybody that you’re connected to on LinkedIn of these minor edits.

So, it’s you’re choice – you can turn them on or off, just think strategically so that you do that in advance of the LinkedIn profile changes so that you don’t cause the ripple effect of everybody thinking you’ve changed your job when in fact, you’ve just made an improvement to your profile.

About the Author

Camille RodriquezCamille Rodriquez is the founder and owner of Polka Dot Impressions. She speaks and writes regularly about social media marketing strategies and trends, and she is also the author of a Christian devotional titled, "When I Die - On Being, Living, and Having the Last Word."View all posts by Camille Rodriquez →